top of page

freedom and florals


oh happy day! year one of uni is officially over with my last (horrendous but let's not go there) paper this morning. i can't believe my first year is over just like that! it's definitely been a roller coaster of a journey with tons of sleepless nights rushing out essays, cramming for exams and way too much coffee in my system. but i wouldn't have had it any other way... i think.

desperate for a much needed chilled out afternoon, my friends and i hightailed out of school and braved a torrential rain to check out this super cute cafe in a ridiculously hipster street just on the outskirts of the city. the cafe had such a cool concept that resembled a lab, and the counters and shelves were lined with apothecary jars and beakers that contained ketchup, raw sugar and quirky condiments. i had a portobello beef burger with garlic aioli and dribbly cheese that was to die for. i would go back again tomorrow if i could. my only regret is that i overlooked their coffee - served in a syringe - because i was punishing myself for the crap essay i wrote for the exam. when i do go back, their coffee will be the first thing i order

the rest of the afternoon was spent roaming the streets lined with the most amazing stores. each store was filled with what i'd classify as eccentric home goods items and decor, gemstone jewelry, pretty lace dresses (my fav!) and stationery to name a few. it was really just two streets that everyone hailed the boho/hipster alleys but it took us what felt like three hours to cover half a street because of all the hidden treasures we found in literally every store we stepped into.

my favorite store was a boutique that strung up bunches of dried flowers from the ceiling and had such an amazing scent lingering in the air from the handmade soaps being displayed on a wooden shelf. they had dried eucalyptus hidden in a corner that was so well displayed, i was thoroughly impressed.

i'm not a very good window shopping companion because i tire so easily, but after sleeping close to none the night before thanks to exam anxiety, i was more beat than usual by early evening. i left early to make it home by sunset, but not before dropping by my favorite grocers for pretty flowers to celebrate the end of a contented day. there's just something about watching the sunset from my windows at home, with the last bright rays warming my white walls a gorgeous faded yellow that heals my soul from a day of constant moving and working.

i washed and cut my flowers in the kitchen in silence, just enjoying the last bits of daylight that flickered on the counter. after which i made myself a lonely slice of avocado toast for dinner (lazy me), hung out in the balcony for a bit and then hopped into a steamy shower. once i was out i slathered on a facial mask, tuned in to this night time chillout mix and proceeded to clean my room floor and pack away all evidence of crazy finals week.

it's half past midnight here and the weekend is going to be filled with so many things but i'm looking forward to it. but for now, my fairylights are twinkling overhead making me feel all sorts of happy and relaxed, and the rest of the night will consist of planning my summer reading list, brainstorming ideas for my next few blog posts and maybe watching The Lord of the Rings until I fall asleep. recuperation begins now. have a great weekend ahead!

xoxo, ali.

Archive

Top Thirteen Thoughts

#1 

today will never happen again

 

#2

freedom is a privilege

 

#3

the more you don't feel like it, pray

 

#4

there's a sunrise and sunset every single day, absolutely free. don't miss too many of them

 

#5

read widely, read often

 

#6

learn something new every day. stay humble, stay curious

 

#7

exercise weekly and eat healthy

 

#8

live deliberately by design and not default

 

#9

get inspired; write more, think lighter and take photographs

 

#10

use time wisely. no mindless scrolling on social media

 

#11

don't hoard

 

#12

be less competitive, do things with the right intention

 

#13

God and others first, always

bottom of page